Faculty of Mathematics and Natural Sciences, Hasanuddin Universit officially established on August 17, 1963 with the name of the Faculty of Exact and Natural Sciences (FIPPA) which consists of four courses, namely: Mathematics, Physics, Chemistry and Biology. In its development, FIPPA add another department, namely Pharmacy so that the faculty consits of five departments. In 1977, FIPPA was fused with the Faculty of Engineering and named Faculty of Science and Technology. Six years later, i.e., in 1983, there was a separation in which the field of Science became the Faculty of Mathematics and Natural Sciences (MIPA) while the technology field got back to be called the Faculty of Engineering. With the change to Faculty of Pharmacy Department in the year 2005, Faculty of Science then consists of four departments since then, like in the earlier condition. Faculty of Science until today has instituted alumni of approximately 6000 people.

Faculty is responsible for developing the fundamental natural sciences which pivotal for the development of science and technology in general. That is why the Faculty has the vision to be the center of excellent for the development of Higher Education in the field of Natural Sciences and mathematics in order to support the development of technology for human prosperity.

Most Viewed Posts

Most Viewed Pages

Account Login


Being the center of excellence in the development of basic science and its application based on Indonesian maritime continent (BMI) at the national level and recognized internationally in 2030.


  • Implement basic education of natural science with the support of mathematics, which is based on faith and devotion to human welfare and environmental protection
  • Implement education to produce graduates who have the capacity, character and competence of science, intellect and adaptive and creative learners.
  • Implement research natural science of basic mathematical support and applying the results through empowerment of the community to utilize a sustainable resources and the environmental conservation